Please excuse our appearance while we upgrade NANO

ISSN 2160-0104 

NANO: New American Notes Online is Open Access and Peer Reviewed  

Editorial Board

Founder and Editor:

Sean Scanlan, New York City College of Technology (literature, cultural studies, humanities)

[email protected]



Assistant Editor:

Lucas Kwong, New York City College of Technology (Victorian literature, the fantastic, religion, postcoloniality)

[email protected]



Assistant Editor:

Robert Lestón, New York City College of Technology (Writing Studies, Media Studies, activist and anarchic rhetorics)

[email protected]



Book Reviews and Interviews Editor:

Rebecca Mazumdar, New York City College of Technology (American literature, Cold War cultural studies)

[email protected]



NANO: New American Notes Online is published by and receives support from:

New York City College of Technology, CUNY

300 Jay Street
Brooklyn, NY 11201

David Banash, Western Illinois University (literature)

Eric Bergesen, Martlet Advisors, LLC (humanities)

Bartholomew Brinkman, Framingham State University (poetry, print culture, digital humanities)

Mark Bruce, Bethel University (literature)

Johannes Burgers, Queensborough Community College (modernism, Jewish studies, critical race theory)

Tom Burke, TowerData, Inc (technology)

Jeff Carlson, Iowa City Press Citizen (literature and culture)

Eric Colvard, Wayne State College (history)

J.P. Craig, Alabama State University (literature)

Michael Chasar, Willamette University (poetry and popular culture)

Brian Deutschendorf, University of Iowa (literature)

Mark Dowdy, San Jose State University (literature)

Jen Dutton, children’s book author (literature)

Matthew Eatough, Baruch College (postcolonial literature, modernism, African literature)

Jason W. Ellis, New York City College of Technology (science fiction, computers, and the brain)

Samuel B. Fee, Washington and Jefferson College (computing and information studies)

Tara Robbins Fee, Washington and Jefferson College (English)

Hugh Ferrer, University of Iowa (International Writing Program)


Ruth Garcia, New York City College of Technology (Eighteenth-century literature, women’s writing, cultural studies)

Michael Germana, West Virginia University (literature)

Erin J. Kappeler, Long-Term NEH Fellow, Massachusetts Historical Society (poetry, poetics, prosody)

Adeline Koh, Richard Stockton College (postcolonial studies, literature)

John Loughlin, New York Film Academy (film and cinematography)

Sara Marks, University of Massachusetts Lowell (communication, libraries & information science)

Kembrew McLeod, University of Iowa (communication)

Sam Metta-Bexar, Arizona Western College (communication, English)

Matt Miller, Yeshiva University (literature)

Tram Nguyen, Hostos Community College (modernism and women's writing)

Dianna Niebylski,  University of Illinois, Chicago (Latin American literature and culture, gender studies)

Patrick O’Connor, Massachusetts College of Art and Design (film and technology)

Cheeni Rao, novelist, Iowa City Book Doctors (writing)

Danny Sexton, Queensborough Community College (Victorian literature, science fiction, gender, and masculinity studies)

Jennifer Sherer, University of Iowa Labor Center (humanities)

Jeffrey Swenson, Hiram College (English)

Ingrid Walker, University of Washington, Tacoma (American cultures)

Angela Warfield, St. Louis Community College (literature)

Sasha Waters Freyer, Virginia Commonwealth University (film and video production)

Keith Wilhite, Siena College (American literature)